Houston Chapter Board

2018 TCEL Houston Chapter Board Meeting Schedule
  • 9/25/2018 - Tuesday - 8:00 - 9:30 AM

  • 10/30/2018 - Tuesday - 8:00 - 9:30 AM

  • 11/27/2018 - Tuesday - 10:00 - 11:30 AM

  • 12/18/2018 - Tuesday - 8:00 - 9:30 AM                  

All meetings are at Aviles Engineering Corporation - unless otherwise noted.  

Upcoming Events

Quarterly Meeting

Date:  August 29, 2018

Time: 11:30 AM - 1:00 PM

Speaker: John Blount, Harris County Engineer

Topic:  Upcoming Projects in Harris County

Place: HESS Club, 5430 Westheimer, Houston, 77056

Tel.: (HESS) 713-627-2283

Cost:  $45 Non-Members

           $35 Members

           $10 Government Employees
(Please make checks payable to TCEL Houston Chapter)

RSVP to Vicky Bonds at vb@geotecheng.com

or 713-699-4000 for all membership meetings.

Become an Event Sponsor for $250.  Event Sponsors

will have the opportunity to sit next to the speaker and will be noted on the program.  If you would like to sponsor an event please contact Vicky Bonds.

John Blount, P.E., LEED AP is the County Engineer for Harris County.  He has been with Harris County for over 30 years, starting as an Inspector and advancing to Director of the Engineering Department. He serves on the National Sanitation Foundation (NSF) Joint Wastewater 

Committee and was previously Chairman of the Texas Onsite Wastewater Research Council appointed by the governor. John is a leader in green infrastructure and sustainability practices.

He a 1984 graduate of the University of Houston. After college he served as an Army Corps of Engineers officer on both active and reserve duty, achieving the rank of captain while stationed in the United States, Republic of Germany and the Republic of Honduras. He has worked in the civil engineering field for 33 years and is a Registered Professional Engineer (WI) (TX) as well as a LEED Accredited Professional.

Past Houston Chapter Presidents

  • Herb Johnson, P.E. – HVJ Associates (2004-2006)
  • Nick Aschliman – Fugro Consultants (2006-2008)
  • David Eastwood, P.E. – Geotech Engineering and Testing (2008-2010)
  • Woody Vogt, P.E. – Paradigm Consultants (2010-2012)
  • Anwar S. Akhtar, P.E. - Fugro Consultants (2012-2014)
  • Alfonzo Hernandez, P.E. – Terracon (2014-2016)