About Us

Early in 1972, leaders from about a dozen Texas construction materials testing and geotechnical engineering firms met in Austin at a meeting called by Grover Williams, P.E. of Trinity Engineering Testing Corporation. The purpose was to consider forming a Texas Council of Engineering Laboratories.

The idea of a Texas State organization whose goals would be to foster and maintain excellence and professionalism in the construction materials and geotechnical engineering disciplines was not entirely new. Most of the people at the Austin meeting were members of American Council of Independent Laboratories' Southern division, and had discussed this subject for several years. Their joint conclusion has been that such an organization not only would be a service to the construction industry and to the public, but to its member firms as well. The meeting produced a unanimous agreement. TCEL came into being that very day.

TECL/ Geo-Professionals ServingTexas

TCEL's Purpose

In keeping with Article IV of TCEL's Constitution, the goals of this non-profit organization are several fold: To foster, encourage, promote and maintain the profession and practice of geoprofessional services at the state and local level.

  • Encourage legislative and administrative policy decisions favorable to the geoprofessional practice.
  • To advance knowledge and learning in the science and practice of geoprofessional services through education and training.
  • To collaborate with other professional organizations to advance the practice of geoprofessional services.
  • To develop standards of performance in the practice of geoprofessional services.

Past Presidents

  • Grover Williams: 1972-1973
  • Carl F. Raba, Jr.: 1974-1975
  • Warren Lacy: 1976-1977
  • Dalton Hamilton: 1978-1979
  • Dan Hanna: 1980-1981
  • Douglas Flatt: 1982-1983
  • Joe Jeanes: 1984-1985
  • Jack Haston/William J. Harper: 1986-1987
  • William J. Harper: 1988-1989
  • Richard W. Kistner: 1990-1991
  • Jerry Weathers: 1991-1993
  • Jeffery Danielski: 1993-1995
  • Jack Haston: 1995-1997
  • David L. Pickett: 1997-1999
  • John Wooley: 1999-2001
  • Duane Harrell: 2001-2003
  • Steven Richards: 2003-2005
  • Joe Cibor: 2005-2007
  • Chris L. Schultz: 2007-2009
  • Lyndon Cox: 2009-2011
  • Pete Bush: 2011-2013
  • Jeffrey Roberts: 2013-2015
  • Woodward Vogt: 2015-2017

Award of Excellence Winners

  • Lyndon Cox: 2018
  • Bill Ciggelakis: 2018
  • Carl Raba: 2016
  • Joseph Cibor: 2015
  • David L. Pickett: 2012
  • John Wolley: 2010
  • George Hollon: 2009
  • Jerry Weathers: 2008
  • Grover Williams: 2006
  • Douglass Flatt: 2005
  • Daniel Hanna: 2004
  • William J. Harper: 2003
  • Richard W. Kistner: 2000

Russell Gibson presents Lyndon Cox and Bill Ciggelakis with the 2018 Award of Excellence.

Board of Directors

President - Rusty Gibson, PE
ETTL Engineers & Consultants

President-Elect - Telfryn John, PE
GeoScience Engineering & Testing, Inc.

Secretary/Treasurer - Preston Parker, PE
Raba Kistner Consultants, Inc.

Past President - Woodward L. Vogt, PE, D.GE
Paradigm Consultants, Inc.

Director - Bryan Sy, PE

Director - Jesse Kocher, PE

Director - Kemp Akeman, PE
T. Smith Inspection & Testing, LLC

Director - Dan Mofor, PE

Standing Committees

Budget & Finance - Preston Parker
Raba Kistner Consultants, Inc.

Public Relations - Kim Icenhower, FSMPS, CPSM
Raba Kistner Consultants, Inc.

Membership - Lyndon Cox
Terracon Consultants, Inc.

Website - Kim Icenhower, FSMPS, CPSM

Chapter Contacts

Austin Chapter - Jesse Kocher, PE

Houston Chapter - Ray Meyer, PE
Paradigm Consultants, Inc.

North Central Chapter - Eric Cleveland, PE
Terracon Consultants, Inc.

San Antonio Chpater - Preston Parker, PE
Raba Kistner Consultants, Inc.