Houston Chapter Board

President - Daniel Gutierrez, P.E.
The Murillo Company

Vice President - Chad Gordon, P.E.

Secretary/Treasurer - Sanjeev Sanjeevan, P.E.
HVJ Associates, Inc.

Director - Naresh Kolli, P.E.
Geotest Engineering

Director - Shane Ressman, P.E.
Aviles Engineering Corporation

Director - Haddis Tewolde, P.E.
All-Terra Engineering, Inc.

Director - David Eastwood, P.E.
Geotech Engineering

Upcoming Events

Quarterly Meeting

Date:  January 25, 2023

Time: 11:30 AM - 1:00 PM

Speaker:   Harris County Commissioner, Precinct 1
                  Rodney Ellis

Topic: Harris County, Precinct 1 Upcoming Projects

Place: Sheraton Brookhollow, 3000 N. Loop W. Freeway, Houston, TX  77092

  • Members - $50
  • Non-Members - $60
  • Government Employees - $35
  • Please make the check payable to Houston Chapter TCEL.
  • No Shows will be charged

Meeting Sponsorships

Become an Event Sponsor for $350. This includes two meals. Event Sponsors will have the opportunity to sit next to the speaker and will be noted on the program. If you would like to sponsor an event, please contact Vicky Bonds.

January Sponsors:

Rodney Ellis
Harris County Commissioner
Precinct 1

Commissioner Rodney Ellis was born and raised in Houston’s Sunnyside neighborhood and attended the Texas public school system from grade school through law school. Although he is an attorney, his passion is public service.

On November 8, 2016, he was elected Harris County Commissioner for Precinct One, which serves approximately 1.1 million people. Previously, he represented a Houston district in the Texas Senate for more than 25 years, and Houston’s District D on the City Council for seven years.

Ellis believes the role of government is to ensure that all people have the opportunity and ability to build a better future for themselves. As Harris County Commissioner, he is dedicated to providing quality and accessible services and programs that will enhance the lives of the people of Precinct One and fighting for reforms that will benefit all Harris County residents.

Before joining the Texas Senate in 1990, Ellis served three terms on the Houston City Council and as chief of staff to the late U.S. Congressman Mickey Leland. He holds a bachelor’s degree from Texas Southern University, a master’s degree from the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs, and a law degree from the University of Texas School of Law. Commissioner Ellis also studied at Xavier University in New Orleans and the London School of Economics.

Rodney Ellis is married to Licia Green-Ellis and has four children.

2023 TCEL Houston Chapter Board Meeting Schedule

Meetings are held virtually the last Wednesday of each month at 10:30 AM.


Past Presidents of Houston Chapter

Herb Johnson, P.E. - HVJ Associates (2004-2006)

Nick Aschliman - Fugro Consultants (2006-2008)

David Eastwood, P.E. -  Geotech Engineering and Testing (2008-2010)

Woody Vogt, P.E. - Paradigm Consultants (2010-2012)

Anwar S. Akhtar, P.E. - Fugro Consultants (2012-2014)

Alfonzo Hernandez, P.E. - Terracon (2014-2016)

Ron Ortwerth, P.E. (2016-2019)

Ray Meyer, P.E. (2019-2021)

David Eastwood, P.E. - Geotech Engineering and Testing (2021-2022)


TCEL Houston Area Members

  • Alliance Laboratories, Inc.
  • All-Terra Engineering, Inc.
  • Alpha Testing, Inc.
  • Associated Testing Laboratories
  • Aviles Engineering Corporation
  • Braun Intertec
  • Cibor Geoconsultants
  • CMT Technical Services, Inc. formerly Paradigm Consultants
  • Geoscience Engineering & Testing, Inc.
  • Geotech Engineering & Testing, Inc.
  • Geotest Engineering, Inc.
  • HTS, Inc.
  • HVJ Associates, Inc.
  • Intertek PSI
  • Ninyo & Moore, Inc.
  • Raba Kistner Consultants, Inc.
  • Riner Engineering, Inc.
  • TEG – Tolunay Engineering Group
  • Terracon
  • Terradyne Engineering, Inc.
  • The Murillo Company
  • Tolunay Wong Engineers